top of page
Search

About a bridge

Updated: Mar 6, 2022

Building bridges between our divisions

I reach out to you as you reach out to me

All of our dreams, all of our visions

Together we can make such sweet harmony


We sometimes sing that song in choir (it works as a round) - and I guess generally bridges are very good things. Today I went to get a close-up view of Brunel's pioneering bridge over the River Tamar, which connected Cornwall to the rest of the UK in a new way in 1859! It's only 8 minutes on the train from Plymouth to Saltash, so it's like just putting a toe into Cornwall. 5th March is St Piran's Day, patron saint of Cornwall, so it was extra special to be there on this day. I didn't catch the sound of any Cornish being spoken, but I think if I'd stayed on later, there may have been some Cornish singing coming in the pub. I overheard someone saying "At 9 o'clock I'll be singing 'The Song of the Western Men'..." More pics from the day here!: https://photos.app.goo.gl/XMEWF1uTtkokZwWY7


PS More on St Piran!


131 views12 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page