top of page
Search

Three Acres and a Cow

Updated: Feb 15, 2021

Hope you're having a good beginning to this Lunar New Year - the Year of the Ox. I was looking for a song connected with oxen, or cows - and came across this one. It was written in the 1880s to go with a movement for land reform and against rural poverty - three acres and a cow being the ideal land holding for every citizen. I picked it up from the website of a touring production of the same name, telling the story of land rights and protest in the UK. I'll definitely sing it on Tuesday night - so if you like, please join in with me! If you'd like to add an instrument, I've written the chords in on the lyric sheet below, I'll play it in C (most likely on the banjo!). Sorry the melody copy is in D and I changed the words a bit from this version. Anyway please join in or listen:) PS There'll

be a couple more numbers that are very join in-able, so do have something to hand if you fancy - think marching band (washboard, upturned waste bin etc etc) :)


Thanks to https://threeacresandacow.co.uk

52 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page